Wednesday, June 8, 2016

"Anchor in the Storm" Review


From the back cover:

In a time of sacrifice, what price can one put on true love?

Nothing slows Lillian Avery down--not her personal challenges and certainly not America's entry into World War II. She finally has a chance to prove herself as a pharmacist in Boston. The demands of her new job energize her. But society boy Ensign Archer Vandenberg's attentions only annoy--even if he is her brother's best friend.

During the darkest days of the war, Arch's destroyer hunts German U-boats in vain as the submarines sink dozens of merchant ships along the East Coast. Still shaken by battles at sea, Arch notices his men also struggle with their nerves--and with drowsiness. Could there be a link to the large prescriptions Lillian has been filling?

As the danger rises on both land and sea, the two must work together to answer that question. But can Arch ever earn Lillian's trust and affection?


 
My Take: 

Sarah Sundin has become one of my favorite Christian authors over the past few years. I like how her series books can be read separately but also tie together, and her attention to the historical details is amazing.

This latest offering in the Waves of Freedom series was another excellent example of what I like about Ms. Sundin’s books.

After getting to know Arch in the first novel in the series, I was so excited that he was going to be one of the main characters in Anchor in the Storm. I also liked the character of Lillian, and I really liked the two of them together. Getting an up-close look at 1940s pharmacies through Lillian’s profession was fascinating. The historical details are top-notch, especially the descriptions of the town of Boston and the accounts of the sailors on the Navy ships. I had no idea that the German U-boats were able to get that close to the United States during World War II.

The spiritual aspect in Anchor in the Storm was very seamless in its presentation which is something that I really appreciate in a Christian novel. I think it could have gone just a bit deeper, but it was still portrayed very well. One of the best parts of the book was the reference to the hymn My Hope Is Built/The Solid Rock. It’s always been one of my favorites, and I enjoyed how it tied in with the themes in this novel.

When darkness veils His lovely face,
I rest on His unchanging grace;
In every high and stormy gale,
My anchor holds within the veil.

In this novel, Arch and Lillian both have internal struggles to deal with that bring them together but then also keep them apart. A romantic plot device that was used in this book was the closest Ms Sundin has ever come to the Big Misunderstanding which was fairly disappointing. I would have liked something else to be the mechanism for keeping them apart for a time as opposed to what was presented. But at that point in the novel, the suspense portion took over and kept the book interesting.

Speaking of the suspense plot of the book – it was so good! Once the mystery portion of the novel got going, I was intrigued, and it kept me interested throughout. I had my suspicions of who was behind everything (and I was right), but that didn’t detract from the mystery plot at all. Anchor in the Storm truly ended up being a page-turner, and one that I stayed up way too late to finish.
 
I will give Anchor in the Storm...4 BookWorms
 
 







Anchor in the Storm
by Sarah Sundin
"Waves of Freedom" #2
Revell Publishing
Publication date: May 3, 2016
400 pages





Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this is accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

Monday, April 18, 2016

My friend Michelle


 
There are approximately 30,000 Americans living with cystic fibrosis. One of them is my friend Michelle. When I found out that she has Cystic Fibrosis, I couldn't believe it. She is so full of life and is truly a fighter of this disease.

The reason she is alive today is because of the great strides that have been made in Cystic Fibrosis research and treatment. There is still no cure, and that is why I am walking in the 2016 Cystic Fibrosis Foundation Great Strides Walk in Lafayette.

Will you join me? Support me by making a donation to my Great Strides fundraising campaign today!

Great Strides is a fun, family-friendly event that raises awareness and support for people with CF and their families.

Please support me!
Help me reach my fundraising goal by donating to my Great Strides fundraising campaign. Your gift will help add tomorrows to the lives of people with cystic fibrosis by supporting life-saving research and medical progress. Your gift is 100-percent tax deductible.
 
 

Wednesday, March 16, 2016

"Understanding World Religions" Review

Confused by the varying religious viewpoints in your workplace, neighborhood, even your family?

Understanding World Religions—contrasting 50 world faiths with Christianity—can help.

Christians believe Jesus’ claim to be “the way and the truth and the life” (John 14:6), though dozens of other religions propose varying pathways to God, heaven, or personal fulfillment. Describing these alternate viewpoints fairly and non-judgmentally, Understanding World Religions features major world faiths (Judaism, Islam, Buddhism, and Hinduism), Christian-based religions (Mormonism, Unification Church, Christian Science), traditional religions (African, Chinese, Native American), and various hard-to-categorize beliefs (Gnosticism, Hare Krishna, New Age Spirituality, Wicca). This fully-illustrated guide is a fascinating and useful tool to help you understand others’ beliefs.



Understanding World Religions: A Bible-Based Review of 50 Faiths
by Len Woods
Barbour Publishing
Publication date: December 1, 2013
264 pages


My Take:

My overall thought about this book is that it is very well organized and easy to read. I like how each section for each religion has a table with basic information about that religion including sacred texts and beliefs about God, Jesus, human nature, salvation, and the afterlife.

This book is not meant to go too in-depth into each religion but to give an overview of each of the most common faiths around the world. It is repetitive, since each section covers the same aspects of each religion, but it is also very handy to have as a quick reference when questions come up. Even though it is more of an overview of each religion, it does do a good job of completely describing each.

This book definitely comes from a Christian perspective, but I found myself wanting each section to go a bit deeper into things Christians could say/do when talking to people of each of these different faiths. I realize, though, that this is not the point of the book. It's not so much apologetics as it is just informational.

Understanding World Religions is a good book to keep on hand as a key to understand these 50 religions.





Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Barbour Publishing through NetGalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this is accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

Wednesday, March 9, 2016

"Amish Cooks Across America" Review

The popular columnist and cookbook author The Amish Cook explores the traditions of Amish settlements across America, with more than 100 new recipes from Amish and Mennonite communities, as well as profiles of the communities themselves.

In Amish Cooks Across America: Recipes and Traditions from Maine to Montana, the celebrated columnist and cookbook author known as The Amish Cook explores why one Amish community in the Northeast makes Shoofly Pie while another settlement in the South favors Muscadine Pie.
   
Divided into chapters highlighting Amish groups in the North, South, East, West, and Midwest, with side trips to Canada and Central America, this recipe book doubles as a travelogue, sampling the cultural and culinary differences among Amish and Mennonite communities across the nation.
   
The Amish are the original locavores. In this collection of fascinating recipes, you'll find favorites from middle America, such as Scalloped Corn, alongside coastal specialties such as Grilled Lime Fish Fillets and Avocado Egg Scramble, as well as Western staples such as Elk Stew and Huckleberry Pancakes, and Southern classics such as Sweet Potato Surprise Cake.
     
This more-than-a-cookbook is filled with full-color photographs of food and the places visited, along with profiles that explore the origins and cooking traditions of each community. This is a book like no other--a delicious melting pot and a fascinating armchair tour of Amish America.


Amish Cooks Across America
Lovina Eicher & Kevin Williams
Andrews McMeel Publishing
Publication date: May 28, 2013
192 pages


My Take:

I love cookbooks.  And I love home-style food.

So I really enjoyed this Amish cookbook. Not only does it have good recipes but it has neat photographs and interesting insights into the places where these recipes were produced.

Most of the recipes in this cookbook were simple to prepare and used easy-to-find ingredients. There were a few that were not to our liking - we don't have elk where we live, and I'm not sure I would want to eat it even if we did - but most of the recipes I would try.

Some of my favorites were the Potato Chowder, the Homemade Baking Mix, and the Cheesy Enchiladas. My husband really liked the Broccoli Salad and the Apple Cake.

For some tasty recipes and a good look into the lives of the Amish in America, this might be one cookbook to pick up.






Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Andrews McMeel Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this is accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."


Tuesday, March 1, 2016

Z Blog Squad Easter Giveaway!

Can you believe it?!
 
 
 
Easter is only 26 days away!!!
 
To help celebrate, the good folks at Zonderkidz have agreed to have me host an Easter basket giveaway!
 
 
I am so excited about this giveaway!
 
 
Zonderkidz let me choose from among several categories of books that have been grouped together especially for this giveaway. Since my daughter just recently turned 7, my blog will be hosting the giveaway for the group of books in the 4-10 year-old age range.
 
 
And what a fun grouping of books it is!
 
 
Here's what you can win:
 
 
Info

 

Faith Builders Bible
NIrV

Full Text Bible with Features
 

 
 
 
 
Info
 
Angels in the Bible Storybook
by Allia Zobel Nolan
Informational Storybook Bible for Older children
 
 

 

 

Info
 
Think, Act, Be Like Jesus
by Randy Frazee
Devotional for kids ages 6-12; from Believe series





 
 
Info
 
7 Days of Awesome
by Shawn Byous
Picture Book; Story of Creation
 
 
 
 
 
Click on "Info" under each book cover above to get more information about each product.

And be sure to check back over the next month or so to read my reviews of these books!
 
He is Risen!
 
To enter the giveaway (U.S. addresses only), fill out the form below by March 12, 2016.    
Please enter only once.
  All books will be shipped in time for Easter! 
  
 
Congratulations to Ella P. -- you are the winner of the Zonderkidz Easter Basket Giveaway!!!
 
 
 
 
 
"The angel said to the women, “Do not be afraid, for I know that you are looking for Jesus, who was crucified. He is not here; he has risen, just as he said. Come and see the place where he lay."  Matthew 28:5-6
 

Friday, February 26, 2016

"Your New Money Mindset" Blog Tour

About the book:

Your New Money Mindset: Create a Healthy Relationship with Money (Tyndale, October 2015)

Have you ever thought: If I just had a little more money I would be happy? Research has shown this belief to be false.
 
Through personal experience, Biblical passages and timely research, coauthors Brad Hewitt, CEO of Thrivent Financial, and Dr. Jim Moline, consulting psychologist, reveal that financial happiness and security have little to do with how much money you have, and a lot to do with the role money plays in your life.

Your New Money Mindset isn't just another book about managing finances. It's a book about reshaping your relationship with money by examining your attitudes and beliefs around money.

Your New Money Mindset:

-Defies the consumerism that infects our culture and sickens our hearts.
-Shows us how to replace the tension and fear we feel about money with contentment and peace.
-Guides us to live open-heartedly with our time, energy and money.
-Provides an online New Money Mindset Assessment™, which will help you pinpoint what attitudes about money you could work on in order to develop an openhearted attitude to life.
Regardless of your financial situation, we invite you to journey with us to discover how to transform your relationship with money by remaking your heart.
 
Purchase a copy: http://bit.ly/1IN4NP7
 
 
About the author: 
 
Brad Hewitt is president and CEO of Thrivent Financial, a not-for-profit Fortune 500 organization dedicated to helping Christians be wise with money and live generously. He speaks regularly on how a redefined relationship with money can help us find and live out our call in life. He and his wife live in Minnesota.

Connect with Brad:
website, Twitter, Facebook



My Take:

When I first picked up this book, I wasn't quite sure what to expect. Is this a devotional book? Is it a self-help thing? Is it an inspirational piece?

What I found was that, in a way, it was kind of all three of these things.

What I like about this book was that it was easy to read, and for the most part, it kept my attention. Since I read a large chunk of it in one sitting, I felt as if some things were repeated quite a bit. But this is true of any book that focus on one thing.

What was the one thing this book focused on? To me it seemed as if the big takeaway was that in order to "get control" over your money (which is what so many people are looking to do), you need to change your thinking about money. When you think differently about your money, you will feel differently about your money and ultimately act differently with your money. This overall idea was so very similar to what our church does every year during our Stewardship month.

I thought that this book got that point across very well. However, if you are looking for more of a step-by-step, practical budgeting, how-to book, this is not your answer. The book seems to take on the "pre" aspect of getting your financial ducks in a row by focusing on the big picture - the "why" of things - rather than the nitty-gritty.

Overall, I thought this was a good book to get your head in the game when it comes to financial thinking. I wouldn't recommend it as a practical how-to, but if you need some help getting your thoughts in line when it comes to money, it would be a help.


See what other reviewers are saying about this book here -
Landing page:






Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale Publishing through Litfuse Publicity. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this is accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."




Thursday, November 19, 2015

"Trim Healthy Mama Cookbook" Review

Trim Healthy Mama Cookbook

Eat Up and Slim Down with More Than 350 Healthy Recipes
by Pearl Barrett and Serene Allison

In their debut cookbook, the Trim Healthy Mama’s share hundreds of delicious, healthy recipes to help readers successfully slim down while eating well. 

This companion cookbook to the bestselling Trim Healthy Mama Plan is just what readers have been waiting for. It features simple, mouthwatering, recipes for breakfast, lunch and dinner—including slow cooker and one-pot meals, hearty soups and salads, omelets and waffles, pizzas, breads and more.  No Trim Healthy Mama should be deprived, so there are also favorite snacks, delectable desserts, and the smoothies, sippers and teas fans love.

With  pantry-stocking advice, time-saving tips, and information on how to cook for the entire family, the Trim Healthy Mama Cookbook offers a delicious and nutritious way to make trim and healthy meals with less stress—so you have more time with your loved ones.


For more information click here.

More information about the Trim Healthy Mama Lifestyle can be found here - http://www.trimhealthymama.com/



My Take:

When I signed up to review this cookbook, I didn't actually realize the whole picture of what this "Trim Healthy Mama" was about. The cookbook promised simple, healthy recipes for all sorts of things, and I am a sucker for a cookbook!

It turns out that the Trim Healthy Mama lifestyle is something that the authors founded based on their previous book - Trim Healthy Mama Plan. Here is what it says on their website about it:
 
Authors Serene Allison and Pearl Barrett provide a comprehensive, Biblically-sound, effective and delicious way to eat for health and weight loss. Written with humor and thorough research, these books will entertain, enlighten and encourage women (and men!) to feed their bodies and souls the way God created us to thrive. Separating scientific realities from the fads, this book addresses the diverse needs of adults and growing children.You'll never look at food and health the same way again.
 
 
To me, all that seems fairly vague. When you get farther into reading about the plan and farther into the cookbook, you realize that this plan involves completely cutting out sugar. It also involves following a plan for eating other types of foods. For someone who has had bad reactions to "other" sweeteners (even natural stevia), this is extremely hard to do!
 
Now I'm not trying to bash the authors of this book - far from it. This plan obviously works for them and works for many others. I just am not able to follow this plan, and it wasn't clear at the outset that this is what this cookbook was about.
 
I looked completely through this cookbook, and there were some recipes that we were able to use, substituting here and there as needed. Most were very tasty, but I think you would get much more out of this book if you are trying to follow the Trim Healthy Mama plan.
 
 
 
 
 
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Penguin-Random House Publishing through Blogging for Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this is accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
 
 
 

Wednesday, November 11, 2015

Veterans Day Salute


 
 
Bill DeWitt (Shoopette's Dad)
Honorably discharged as Petty Officer 2nd Class (E-5) after four years in the United States Navy -- 1964-1968.

Bill enlisted in the U.S. Navy in 1964 and served primarily on the USS America (CV-66), an aircraft carrier. The USS America was attached to Fighter Squadron (VF-33), and Bill served as an Aviation Fire Control Technician (AQF-2). He worked on the electronics that controlled the air-to-air missiles on the F4-B Phantom fighter jet.

The time period when my dad served was the early Vietnam War era. His aircraft carrier was also involved in the rescue effort of a Navy electronic intelligence vessel during the Six-Day War in June, 1967, when the USS Liberty was mistakenly attacked during the Arab-Israeli conflict.
 
My dad learned as much as he could about electronics in the Navy, and after he was discharged, he used the G.I. Bill to attend college at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. After earning his Bachelor's and Master's degrees in Electrical Engineering, he spent the next 40+ years as a Professional Engineer in various companies and then as a Full Professor of Electrical Engineering Technology at Purdue University.
 

 
 
Orlo Shoop (Shoopette's father-in-law}
U.S. Army, Chief Warrant Office IV, retired after 24 years of service.

After attending Wabash College in Indiana, Orlo entered the U.S. Army in 1971 in the midst of the conflict in Vietnam. While stationed in Hawaii, he graduated with a Bachelor's degree from Chaminade University.
 
During his career in the U.S. Army, Orlo was stationed at various bases throughout the world including bases in Hawaii; North Carolina; Wurzburg, Germany; Arizona; Georgia, Heidelberg, Germany; and Nebraska. He served in Military Intelligence including being stationed at Headquarters USAREUR - Heidelberg, Germany, during the U.S. Gulf War in the early 1990s. He finished his career at STRATCOM in Bellevue, Nebraska. Beyond that, since he was in Military Intelligence, we can't say anything else -- it's classified. :)
 
My husband grew up in this Army household and moved at least every three years during his childhood. The motto in the Shoop household was, "Home is where the Army sends you."
 
After retiring from the Army, Orlo moved his family back home to Indiana. He has spent the past 20 years working for Purdue University in IT/Technical Operations.
 
 
 
 
 

Tuesday, October 27, 2015

"Annihilation" Review

Area X has been cut off from the rest of the continent for decades. Nature has reclaimed the last vestiges of human civilization. The first expedition returned with reports of a pristine, Edenic landscape; the second expedition ended in mass suicide; the third expedition in a hail of gunfire as its members turned on one another. The members of the eleventh expedition returned as shadows of their former selves, and within weeks, all had died of cancer. In Annihilation, the first volume of Jeff VanderMeer's “Southern Reach” trilogy, we join the twelfth expedition.

The group is made up of four women: an anthropologist, a surveyor, a psychologist (the de facto leader), and our narrator – a biologist. Their mission is to map the terrain, record all observations of their surroundings and of one another, and – above all – avoid being contaminated by Area X itself.

They arrive expecting the unexpected, and Area X delivers―they discover a massive topographic anomaly and life forms that surpass understanding―but it's the surprises that came across the border with them and the secrets the expedition members are keeping from one another that change everything.

My husband's take:

I am a huge fan of Sci-Fi and fantasy books, and I have been for as long as I can remember. But even I must admit that sometimes they can be a bit cookie cutter. The hero finds him/herself in space/a distant land and must conquer the aliens/dragons and save the love interest. Occasionally you get something different, but that really doesn’t happen too often. 

Now don’t get me wrong – I still love reading these types of books even if it is the same basic story over and over. I’m a fan, and there is something to be said for the familiar. 

However, Annihilation is something different. Very different. So different that it is hard for me to put it into a category or even decide if I liked it or not.

The story is of an expedition in Area X. Actually, this is the story of the 12th expedition in the strange area that has been cut off from the rest of America. Each of the previous expeditions all died in very strange ways, so this expedition is treated differently. Four women with varying skill sets enter the zone, completely alienated from the history of the area and each other. They don’t even know each other’s names. With tensions already high, they start to become affected by Area X and slowly descend into madness.

This book is written from the perspective of one of the four women’s journal entries. The author does a fantastic job of painting a picture of the surroundings and giving you a real grasp of the tension among the four women. One of the women is a psychologist who has given them hypnotic suggestions to try to control them without their knowledge. When the narrator figures this out, she immediately tries to figure out why. Each of the women’s mental state decays throughout the novel, which is actually pretty cool. Our main character sees them all start to lose it but can’t figure out if she is going crazy or not. The descriptions of Area X were amazing, and trying to figure out what happened to the area and the previous expeditions was appealing, too.

But even though parts of this story were interesting, I still felt as if it was missing…something. I’m not sure if “missing” is the right word to use here, but it was definitely lacking in story lines and progressions. There didn’t seem to be much of a story arc – just a slow descent into more questions. And each question that was raised seemed to just lead to more questions. There were no answers – none at all. There were lots of little storylines that looked like they might be promising, but they went no further than a few steps and then veered right back onto the path to nowhere.

It doesn’t help that I didn’t realize this was the first book in a trilogy (I should have known. Is it possible for someone to write a book that isn’t part of a trilogy these days?), so the ending was completely unsatisfying. Maybe there would be more of a story arc over the entire trilogy and maybe those questions would get answers eventually. When I did learn it was a trilogy, the biggest question that came to mind was – is this book good enough for me to want to read two more? And like all of the other questions raised in this novel, I really don’t know the answer to that one, either. 

I will give Annihilation ... 3 BookWorms.










Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from HarperCollins UK/4th Estate Publishing through NetGalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this is accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising." 

Wednesday, October 21, 2015

"A Worthy Pursuit" Review

A teacher on the run. A bounty hunter in pursuit. Can two enemies learn to trust each other before they both lose what they hold most dear?

Stone Hammond is the best tracker in Texas. He never comes home empty-handed. So when a wealthy railroad investor hires him to find his abducted granddaughter, Stone eagerly accepts.

Charlotte Atherton, former headmistress of Sullivan's Academy for Exceptional Youths, will do anything to keep her charges safe, especially the orphaned girl entrusted to her care. Charlotte promised Lily's mother she'd keep the girl away from her unscrupulous grandfather, and nothing will stop Charlotte from fulfilling that pledge. Not even the handsome bounty hunter with surprisingly honest eyes who comes looking for them.

When Miss Atherton produces documentation that shows her to be Lily's legal guardian, Stone must reevaluate everything he's been led to believe. Is she villain or victim? 

Then a new danger forces Charlotte to trust the man sent to destroy her. Stone vows to protect what he once sought to tear apart. Besides, he's ready to start a new pursuit: winning Charlotte's heart.

My Take:

Books by Karen Witemeyer were some of the first ones I read when I started doing book reviews several years ago. Some of her novels I have thought were just OK, but there are a couple of hers that I would list among my favorite books that I have reviewed.

Fortunately, this latest novel can be counted as a favorite.

First of all, the setup for this book was one that I thought was very unique. A bounty hunter chasing a supposedly kidnapped girl and a guardian trying to protect that same girl from her disreputable grandfather – it made for a great stepping off point for the rest of the novel.

And what a multi-layered novel it was.

The complicated setup only led to an intriguing novel that had so many dimensions that I never once felt bored. There were just so many things that led to my overall enjoyment of this book. The talented children, the bounty hunter with a heart of gold, the uptight music teacher who was running from the emotional turmoil in her past, the suspense, the witty banter – all of it came together into a very well-written book that was extremely hard to put down.

One thing that has been lacking in recent novels I have read is the depth of the characters. This was definitely not lacking with A Worthy Pursuit. Charlotte and Stone and especially the children leapt off the page. They never once felt as if they were cookie-cutter characters, and their actions and dialogue seemed genuine. The plot of this novel really could have led to many Big Misunderstandings in order to keep the characters apart, but even though one time it got close, it never fully went that route. And for that I am very grateful! 

I also appreciated the relationship between Charlotte and Stone. I knew where it would ultimately end up, but it was fun to see their journey. Even though the physical descriptions at times were a bit eye-rolling or unnecessary, their courtship still felt genuine, and I liked seeing how they fell in love.

The suspense throughout this novel was something else that kept things interesting. I like having another dimension to a romance besides the courtship, and this novel definitely had that. Poor Stone was beaten up and shot at so many times it became borderline unbelievable, but it still made for an interesting story.

One of my favorite aspects of the Charlotte character was her love of music. I so related to how she could just let go and lose herself in the music when she played the piano. I saw a quote years ago (attributed to a German opera house), and the last part said, “God gave us music that we might pray without words.” This came to mind at once when Charlotte played the piano in the book, and there are so many times when I feel the same way when I play.

If I had to pick something that could have been done a little bit better, it would be the spiritual aspect. The two main characters already had a relationship with God, and they did rely on Him and the Bible for guidance. It was very seamless in its presentation, which is something I appreciate, but I wish at times that it just went a bit deeper.

Something that I thought was really cute in this novel was how Stone, because of his career as a bounty hunter, ended up being portrayed in dime novels as a character. It was a neat way for Stone to relate to Lily as her protector, and I thought it was just flat-out funny at times. Stone’s friend and fellow dime novel character, Dan, was fun, too, and I would love to read a book about him in the future!

I truly feel that this novel was reminiscent of what I really liked about Karen Witemeyer’s books back in the beginning of her career. A Worthy Pursuit is definitely a favorite read of the year.

I will give  A Worthy Pursuit ... 4 BookWorms.











Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this is accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."