Monday, July 30, 2012

"Tidewater Inn" Review

Libby Holladay was completely surprised to find out that she had inherited a historic old inn on Hope Island in the Outer Banks. As a restorer of historic buildings and homes, this is a dream come true. The discovery of a family she never knew existed only adds to her delight.

But all of that changes when Libby’s best friend, Nicole, is kidnapped right before her eyes. Arriving on Hope Island, Libby finds herself the prime suspect in Nicole’s kidnapping, and her newly-discovered family just wants her to leave. With developers hounding her at every turn, Libby wonders if her dream has become a nightmare. A local Coast Guard Officer, Alec Bourne, seems to be the only one who believes Libby’s innocence. But will they be able to figure out who really took Nicole before it is too late?
Suspense, family relationships, and romance all collide in the first novel in the Hope Beach series.

I have said in the past that I like how Colleen Coble’s novels start off with a bang. This one definitely delivered on that, since Libby’s friend, Nicole, is kidnapped in the opening chapter. However, there was a lot of discussion in that first chapter between Libby and Nicole about the island and Tidewater Inn and Libby’s new family that left my head spinning. While I liked getting the suspense part of the story started right away, I felt as if leading up to that it was almost information overload.
I loved the setting of this novel. I have never been to the Outer Banks, but it sounds as if the combination of historic places and quaint towns would be right up my alley. I also liked how the characters in this novel loved their town and wanted to do what was best for it. The connection Libby felt to the island almost immediately after arriving there was so enjoyable.

The situation that Libby was in was unique, which made the suspense portion of the book really good. I was able to figure out whodunit, but not until close to the end, which is exactly what I like in the suspense genre.
Libby’s circumstances in this novel also set up some wonderful examples of ways to extend grace to those who treat us poorly. There are many instances of forgiveness that occur in this novel that model the grace that Christ shows to us. However, I thought that Libby’s constant reference to WWJD (“What Would Jesus Do”), while a great reminder of how Christians should be thinking, came across as…how can I say this? Too 1996. The message of truth was great, but the delivery was a little distracting.

The romance side of the story was pretty good, but I did feel as if the characters moved a little too quickly toward their amorous feeling for each other. They acknowledge this fact, but I still think it comes off as far too idealistic, and it felt forced.
I almost feel as if I like this book more now that I have finished it than I did when I was reading it. After having some time to think on it and to reflect on the book as a whole, the overall story was very interesting. While I was reading the book, I sometimes felt distracted or like I was missing something. I felt as if I did not get to know the characters as well because so much from their past was being explained to me rather than being experienced by me. Also, the main male character, Alec, sometimes seemed too good to be true; he was almost too perfect.

The ending of this novel, however, is exciting. This is something else I really like in suspense novels, and something I have come to expect from Colleen Coble. It will be interesting to see where she takes us in the next novels in this series.

I will give Tidewater Inn … 3 ½ BookWorms.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this is accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

Wednesday, July 25, 2012

"The Bride Wore Blue" Review

Vivian Sinclair is the ‘baby’ of the family, and she has found it difficult to always live in the shadow of her perfect sisters. When Vivian joins her sisters in Cripple Creek, Colorado, she is given a warm welcome, but she soon finds that the small mining town doesn’t have too many opportunities for a woman on her own. With her past back in Maine still haunting her and her need for a job overwhelming her, Vivian agrees to a job as a hostess at a sporting house. Little does she know that this decision will lead to a life of deception that will send her even farther down the wrong path.
For Carter Alwyn, the local sheriff’s deputy, the main priority is to keep Cripple Creek safe. When a trio of bandits begins terrorizing the town and others around it, he makes it his personal mission to see them brought to justice. But when newcomer Vivian Sinclair seems to be caught right in the middle of the whole affair, Carter is astounded at his attraction to her. He wonders if he could ever have a normal life with a wife and family, since he is so committed to his job.

This book continues the stories of the Sinclair sisters of Cripple Creek, Colorado, and begins in June of 1897.
I enjoyed the first two books in this series, Two Brides Too Many and Too Rich for a Bride – the second one more than the first. But I think it is safe to say that this third offering in the series is by far my favorite.

What struck me most about this book was how balanced everything was. There are historical elements, of course, since the novel takes place in 1897, but the story fits right into the history and the setting. The romance is perfectly woven into the other aspects of the plot. The relationship between Vivian and Carter is a main plot point, but it doesn’t overshadow the rest of the story, including the characters’ growth and their faith in God. The characters from the previous novel were woven into the story just enough to include them but without walking all over Vivian’s story.
While some might think that the romance in this book was a little lacking (since Vivian and Carter rarely touch or swoon over each other), I think that it was actually very fitting. Considering Vivian’s past, she would definitely be one who would be extremely cautious about getting too physical with another man. This allowed Vivian and Carter’s relationship to be built on more than just attraction – it was built on respect for each other and on a shared faith in God and his grace.

I also liked the bit of suspense that was added to this novel. The trio of bandits made the story more exciting, and the way everything got mixed up with the secrets that Vivian was keeping made her story even more interesting.
The only thing that was disappointing about this book was that it just didn’t seem as if Vivian had a strong enough motive for getting involved in working at the sporting house. Yes, she felt unworthy because of the things that she had done in her past, and, yes, she had tried and failed at various other jobs. But she was living in the same town as her three sisters. I hardly think they would have kicked her out on the street if she was unable to find employment. Maybe I am underestimating how badly Vivian felt about herself, but it seemed as if her reasoning was a little thin.

Even though Vivian just kept making mistakes and I sometimes got frustrated with her, this book ultimately has a message of God’s unfailing love and forgiveness – and that with God’s help, we can show that forgiveness to others. I appreciate the author’s ability to incorporate the spiritual side of the character’s lives and to integrate it so well.
I feel as if I have not necessarily done this book justice with my review. I really liked this book. It had almost an ‘old-school’ Christian fiction feel to it – like books from Janette Oke or Lori Wick. These were the authors that brought me into the genre, and while I sometimes enjoy when authors break away from that tradition, I still always like to come back to what attracted me in the first place.

As I got closer to the end of this novel, I actually started feeling really sad because I was assuming that, since this book was about the youngest sister, this would be the end of the series. Then there started to be little hints here and there towards the end of the book pointing towards another novel in the series. Imagine my delight when I discovered that the next Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek book, Twice a Bride, will be out in October. I will definitely be getting my hands on that one.

I will give The Bride Wore Blue … 4 Bookworms.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from WaterBrook Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this is accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

Monday, July 23, 2012

"My Own Worst Enemy" Review (Non-fiction)

Sometimes Your Biggest Obstacle Is Yourself

You know you could do great things if you just stopped getting in your own way. But most days, self-doubt, fear, and the seductive whispers of insecurity have you second-guessing yourself--before you've even started.

Writer and speaker Janet Davis shows you how to break the destructive cycle of shame and self-doubt to achieve your full potential. Through lessons from her own life and examples of modern and biblical women, she reveals that every woman is called to shine, and you are no exception.

Learn how to break destructive patterns in order to live out your purpose in God's kingdom, bringing the sense of fulfillment you've been longing for.

Study questions also make this a great book for women's small groups.

For more information about this title and to read an excerpt, click here.

About the Author:
Janet Davis has a master's degree in spiritual nurture (Western Seminary-Seattle) and works as a spiritual director, writer, and speaker after many years in hospital chaplaincy. She has published two books: The Feminine Soul: Surprising Ways the Bible Speaks to Women and Sacred Healing: MRIs, Marigolds, and Miracles. Janet and Bob, her husband of more than thirty years, live in Austin, Texas. She enjoys their four adult children, gardening, and good food.
Check out this Q&A session with the author here.
My Take:
My Own Worst Enemy was an interesting book to read about living the Christian life to the fullest. I liked the stories of the women in the Bible the best. There were several things that were pointed out in the lives of those women that I had never thought of before.
I also liked that the author points out that we should be living a life of authenticity - being ourselves as we go through our lives and doing all we can to show others the love of Jesus.
I liked this quote from the Q&A session with the author: "That song we teach our children, This Little Light of Mine, is not child’s play or a nice option. It is a mandate, a commandment meant to bless us, and the world all around us, with the love of Jesus."
While many points in this novel are backed up by Scripture, I think that sometimes the book made me look 'inward' too much rather than 'upward.' I definitely need to identify areas in which I need to grow and change, and I need to confess sin and repent from it. But I think the book tended to focus a lot on what I needed to do to shine or to stop the cycle of  self-sabotage rather than what Christ has already done for me.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House/Baker Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this is accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

Friday, July 20, 2012

"Reunion" Blog Tour

About the Book: Keira Johnson, a 50-year-old mother of two grown sons, believes she lives a good Christian life without secrets-- until she discovers a life-jarring fact her late mother kept hidden all her life. Kiera was born out of wedlock, and the man she had always known as her father had adopted her as an infant.

Meanwhile, Keira's beloved 17-year-old niece, Kirsten, has just discovered an unwanted pregnancy. Her boyfriend, Jose, is bound for college and Kirsten does not know what to do. As the family comes together for a reunion, Keira and Kirsten struggle with their fractured pasts and jumbled present. Will truth and honesty be the catalysts that allow the entire family to find peace?

Find more information about this book here.

About the Author: Lauraine Snelling has been writing since 1980, with over 65 books published, both fiction and non-fiction, historical and contemporary, for adults and young readers. Her books consistently appear on CBA bestseller lists, and have been translated into Norwegian, Danish, and German. A hallmark of her style is writing about real issues of forgiveness, loss, domestic violence, and cancer within a compelling story. Lauraine and her husband, Wayne, have two grown sons, and live in the Tehachapi Mountains with a watchdog Bassett named Chewy. Visit her Web site at

My Take:

Right off the bat, I thought Reunion was a very well-written book, and this continued throughout. Even though I didn't necessarily relate to the characters, I still cared about them and wanted to know what would happen.

This story is definitely character-driven. What is described in the summary is basically what happens in the book - there is not much else to the plot except for the ultimate conclusions, which were quite satisfying. Reading about the two situations with Keira and Kirsten were interesting, but there were a few times when I thought the story and the action dragged a bit.

This novel is one that comes from everyday life. The situations in which these people found themselves occur all the time in every town. The way this book was so highly based in reality made it not so much just fiction but more of a contemporary biographical fiction. This is not necessarily a bad thing, just something to keep in mind.

I appreciate the sense of unconditional love that was portrayed in this novel, both from God and from others. The emotions were real, but the characters constantly came back to knowledge of the love God had for them and also the love of their family. The characters also strived to live their lives according to the Bible. Even though they made mistakes and had wrong thinking, they went back to the God's Word to get back on track.

One thing that struck me when I was reading this book was how often the characters fixed tea. I'm surprised they didn't float away considering how much tea they drank! I like tea, especially iced tea, but you would think the characters were British considering the numbers of times they fixed tea to drink. I did enjoy the descriptions of the characters baking cookies and fresh bread and fixing their meals. Made me want some homemade cookies! It would have been really neat to have some of those recipes in the book.

Reunion deals with some difficult topics in very real ways. Although it was well-written and thought-provoking, there was not always enough story there to entirely keep my attention. However, fans of contemporary fiction based on real life will not be disappointed.

I will give Reunion ... 3 ½ BookWorms.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from FaithWords/Hachette Book Group through Netgalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this is accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

Wednesday, July 18, 2012

"Submerged" Review

The last place Bailey Craig wants to be is back in Yancey, Alaska. But that is where she finds herself after the death of her beloved aunt Agnes. When it is discovered that there may have been more to the plane crash that killed her aunt than just an accident, Bailey must remain in her hometown for longer than is easily endured. Small towns don’t forget, and Bailey has a less-than-desirable reputation.
Cole McKenna is both excited and nervous to hear that Bailey Craig is back in town. As one of the rescue divers called to investigate the plane wreckage, Cole will be working closely with Bailey to discover what really happened to her aunt. But Bailey broke his heart years ago, and he wonders what it will take to put it back together.

The quiet town of Yancey, Alaska, harbors a deep secret. As more and more evidence is unearthed, the truth of the past will come to light, not only for the town, but for Bailey and Cole as well.
For a debut author, I thought the writing in this novel was good. The story was easy to read, the suspense was excellent, and the plot was intricate. At one point close to the end, I had to put the book down to go cook dinner (or do some other mundane thing), and I told my husband, “I can’t believe what a predicament I just left those poor people in!” When I feel bad leaving the characters in a jam, then I know that I am really involved in the suspense part of the story.

Overall, the romance was done well, too. There were only a few times when I was tempted to roll my eyes at something that was too syrupy-sweet romantic. The good thing was that the romance didn’t overshadow the suspense. At the same time, the suspense wasn’t so much that it squeezed the romance out of the way, either. It was very nicely balanced.  I did notice, however, that Cole didn’t always seem to think like a guy. At one point he thinks to himself that Bailey smelled “like a meadow after a spring rain.” Now, maybe my husband just isn’t the poetic type (which is certainly OK with me), but I think he would describe it more as “you smell good,” or “you smell like fruit” instead of with such a flowery description!
Since my favorite genre is historical fiction, it was nice to see a little bit of that come into play in this book. And yet I couldn’t help but get bogged down in the historical aspects of the story. Russian history is complex and hard to describe as it is, so putting most of it at the end of the novel in a huge chunk made it even harder to follow. It might have worked better if the historical aspects had been revealed throughout the book instead. Since the reader didn’t have those facts until the end, it made it much harder (in fact, almost impossible) to figure out the bad guy’s motive for causing all of this in the first place.

As for the characters, there were a lot of them. I only label Bailey and Cole as the main characters because they are listed in the back-of-the-book description. The other characters are interesting, and I realize that they will have their own stories in the next books in the series, but I thought a little too much time was spent building up the minor characters.
As for Bailey and Cole, they were not necessarily relatable to me on a personal level because I have not been through their experiences. I understand that it would be hard for Bailey to move on from the things she had done, especially going back to the town where all of that took place. But I did sometimes find myself thinking that she was being very self-involved. She seemed to always be dwelling on the fact that the people around her were thinking the worst about her. I just couldn’t help thinking that she needed to get over herself. The other characters in the book had more on their minds than just Bailey Craig.

However, spiritually, the characters were easy to relate to. The message of grace and forgiveness comes through clearly in this novel. No matter what we have done in the past, we must accept that Christ died for those sins and move on in the knowledge of His grace and mercy. It does us no good for our past sins to hold us back from living the life that Christ wants us to live right now.
I was really excited to read a book set in Alaska, somewhere I really want to visit one day. But, throughout this story, I kept getting tripped up in the descriptions of people and places that were supposedly in Alaska. Even if it might sometimes hit 80 degrees in August in Alaska, that doesn’t mean that everyone there runs around in sundresses and flip-flops and goes surfing. I’m sure there are some sandy beaches somewhere in Alaska, but, in my mind, most of the coastline is rocky. It just felt incongruous. The whole time I was reading, I felt as if you could have lifted the story right out of Alaska, put it in Hawaii or the Caribbean, and (except for the Russian history) you would have had the same story. This is just my personal preference, but if you are going to set your story in Alaska, I would enjoy it much better if it actually feels as if it is taking place in Alaska.

The suspense part of this novel was good, as was the overall message of grace and forgiveness. I wouldn’t mind reading the next books in this series…as long as they take place in winter in Alaska!

I will give Submerged … 3 BookWorms.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House/Baker Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this is accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

Friday, July 13, 2012

"Crater" Review

I received Crater by Homer Hickam from Thomas Nelson Publishers as a review copy through Netgalley. For this book, I am letting my wonderful husband write the review, since he likes this genre better than I do!

Crater is an exceptional boy living in an exceptional place: The Moon.  Humanity has colonized the moon and is mining it for natural resources.  It is very profitable, yet also very dangerous.  Working in space, explosives, and rival mining companies make death a common occurrence for Helium-3 miners.  As such, anyone willing to work there has their past ignored.  No questions are asked.  As you can guess, this makes for a very colorful cast of characters with which our protagonist lives.
Enter Crater, a good natured, honest, talented boy living amongst the dregs of humanity.  He is smart and gifted in many ways (especially engineering), making him useful but also an outcast.  His only true friend is his bio-computer, Gillie.  Everyone else takes advantage of Crater, including the owner of the mine, Colonel John High Eagle Medaris.  He recruits Crater to go on a mission with his grand-daughter, Maria, to retrieve a very important package.  A package, he is told, that will change the future of the moon forever, plunging it into lasting peace or terrible war.

Crater must go on an incredible journey where he discovers new allies, new enemies, and new confidence in his abilities.  Will he be able to complete his mission and save the moon?  Or is he being manipulated into doing something that will cause more problems than he can ever know?
This book was an interesting conundrum for me.  The character of Crater was excellent, and I wanted to read more about him.  The rest of the characters were mostly just annoying, and yet, that is where most of the story seemed to focus.  We kept getting glimpses of the greatness that Crater could possess, but we never got to actually see it.  Hints were given about his past and how it actually is an incredible story, but we were never really told about it.  I really wanted more from Crater but didn’t get it.

Now, to be fair, I just recently found out that this is the first book in a series, so the author did need to leave something for the future books.  Knowing that while reading it would have helped, so that is my fault.  I do look forward to reading the rest of the books in this series, as I want to get to know Crater better.
You know you are reading a good author when you identify with the character.  I found myself getting very frustrated reading this book and yet wanted to continue reading.  I eventually figured out that the problem was that I identifying with Crater.  He is a nice guy who is just too gullible.  He believes the best in everyone except himself.  Everyone around him knows it and takes complete advantage of the kid, and the reader knows it.  When you find yourself getting angry with the other characters and wanting Crater to see the big picture, then you know you are hooked.

The ending of the book was a bit of a disappointment for me.  I couldn’t wait to find out what the package was that everyone wanted so badly.  Once I found out, I thought it was pretty lame.  But, perhaps it will be explained better in the next books.  It just seemed like a lot of trouble for something that didn’t really matter.
Overall, I liked this book.  It was a fast read that kept me interested the entire time.  It had its frustrating moments, but overall, it was worth reading. 

I will give it 3.5 out of 5 BookWorms.

Thanks, honey! Glad you enjoyed this book!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson through Netgalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this is accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

"The Blessed" Review

After being estranged from her family at a young age, Lacey Bishop goes to live with a preacher and his wife. Miss Mona has a chronic illness, and Lacey becomes her caregiver. Over the next few years, Lacey’s life becomes even more unusual. An orphaned infant, Miss Mona’s death, and Lacey’s dubious marriage to the widowed preacher all lead to a place in which Lacey never pictured herself: a Shaker village.
When his young wife dies, Isaac Kingston finds himself with nowhere to go. His father-in-law blames him for Ella’s death, so his life in Louisville is basically over. After a seemingly coincidental meeting with a Shaker man, Isaac finds himself going back to the village with him. But the odd things he encounters there have Isaac questioning everything he has ever known.

Set in a Shaker village in Kentucky, The Blessed takes a look at this little-known society, while ultimately telling a story of hope and forgiveness.

Before I picked up this novel, I thought that the Shakers were pretty much the same as the Amish, only with more enthusiastic worship services. I had never studied or researched anything about them. So, before I started reading, I went to the place I go on the Web when I want semi-useful information: Wikipedia.
Wow, was I wrong about the Shakers (and my apologies to the Amish). One thing in particular that was especially surprising to me was that the Shakers thought that marriage was evil and lived a life of celibacy – everyone lived as brothers and sisters. It seems that this would make it very difficult for a religion to survive, if only for the fact that there would be no children naturally born into the community. (In fact, according to Wikipedia, there are currently only five surviving members who belong to the Shaker religion).

Getting to the actual novel, I thought the best part was the story. Even though the setting was strange, the plot was interesting and kept me reading, as did the characters. I really liked Lacey, especially when she was constantly thinking through what she believed. She was living with this odd group of people who had beliefs that I would consider to be blasphemous (since the Shakers’ founder, “Mother Ann,” claimed to be a female Christ), yet Lacey’s faith was stronger than their persuasions. I liked it when she would examine something that the Shakers told her through the lens of what she knew to be true from the Bible and find their beliefs lacking. Her faith was based on her belief in Christ and the Bible, and her knowledge of the Scripture and how to apply it to her life was refreshing.
I also enjoyed a character that wasn’t even actually in the book. Lacey’s friend Miss Mona, who we were only told about during thoughts of the past, was such a huge influence in Lacey’s life. I liked how Lacey would think back to what she and Miss Mona had read from the Bible and then apply it to her own life. There were people like this in Isaac’s life, too, and it was a great example of the effect we can have on the people around us. You may never know what seeds are being sown.

The romance in this story kind of takes a backseat, since Lacey and Isaac are living in the Shaker village where men and women seldom have any interaction. But, this also makes for an interesting romantic saga. The obstacles that are there to overcome are immense and seemingly impossible. Also, the fact that families do not exist in the Shaker village made for some heartbreaking scenes between Lacey and her adopted daughter, Rachel.
Like I said earlier, I really liked the story part of this novel. Ann Gabhart is a talented writer who makes you feel as if you are right in the setting of the story and completely involved in the lives of the characters. However, the setting of the Shaker village was too just much for me. I couldn’t get past the complete untruths that were taught in this community, even considering that Lacey was constantly disagreeing with those beliefs. Some might find the Shaker religion fascinating; I just found it bizarre and unsettling, which decreased my overall enjoyment of the novel.

I will give The Blessed … 3 BookWorms.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this is accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

Tuesday, July 3, 2012

"Legacy Road" Blog Tour

About the Book:  Wes Watkins’s journalism career took off when he was asked to eulogize Michael Gavin, a stranger to Wes but a hometown hero to the humble folks of Talking Creek, Georgia. While researching Gavin’s life, Wes was confronted with an estranged relationship of his own that he wasn’t prepared to address, having ignored for years the occasional letters from his imprisoned father. Wes has chosen to focus instead on his growing career and his budding relationship with Emmy. His life is looking up . . . until his marriage proposal to Emmy goes south.

Left to wonder if he can reconcile with Emmy before she is deployed to Afghanistan, Wes can no longer avoid the other reconciliation that troubles him. But when Wes uncovers a painful truth about his parents’ past, patching things up with his father may prove impossible. Wes’s life is close to spiraling out of control. Will Wes learn to forgive? Or will the best year of his life turn into the worst?

Set against the haunting backdrop of several Civil War battlefields, Legacy Road is a grace-full exploration of hidden secrets—and what happens when they are revealed. Through the ups and downs of human relationships, of family ties lost and found, southern fiction fans will ponder the age-old question: How do you forgive others—and release yourself—from a past that threatens to destroy you?

Read more about this book here.

About the Author:  Graham Garrison is the author of Hero’s Tribute and has published articles in six newspapers and eight magazines, including the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, America’s Civil War, Georgia Physician, and Boating World.

My Take:

Since I did not realize when I started reading this novel that it was sort of a continuation of the author's first book, Hero's Tribute, I felt as if I had jumped into the deep end head first. But, I just plunged ahead and tried to figure out what was going on in the lives of the characters. (I actually think it would have helped to have a prologue description of the first book, since the explanations given in this book of what had happened in the past were very disjointed.)

Because I didn't feel very connected to the characters (mostly due to not knowing them in the first book, I think), it was hard for me to relate to them. I sympathized with their struggles, but it sometimes felt forced.

I also thought that the book read more like a play or a documentary instead of a fiction story. It just seemed to move from one day to the next and told about that particular character in a 'telling' fashion rather than a 'showing' fashion. To be honest, I didn't find the story particularly compelling. I did think that it was true-to-life, but sometimes reality is just not that exciting.

Ultimately, however, Legacy Road is a novel that deals with complex family relationships and what can happen if we let the bitter root of unforgiveness take hold. This is where the book has depth and a sense of redemption, and I enjoyed the conclusion to the story.

Although this book wasn't really for me, I would recommend it to those who enjoyed the author's first novel.

I will give Legacy Road ... 2 BookWorms.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Kregel Publications. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this is accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."